Kai Ju Yang (Kelly)

Commercial Cookery Student

Kai Ju Yang (Kelly), 25, comes from Taiwan and is studying a Certificate III Commercial Cookery.

Biography

What are the main differences between your home city and Darwin?
The main differences between my home city and Darwin are the language and the weather. The town that I was from is called Hsinchu and we have four seasons there.

Have you ever lived away from home before?
Never. This is my first time to be out of the country.

What do you miss most from home?
My dog.

What activities do you do outside of school?
I just normally watch movies at home.

Why did you choose to study in Darwin?
I had a friend who works here and I decided to go on a working holiday, then later on study.

What friends have you made since moving to Darwin?
I gained friends from the college and workplace and they are from different countries like Korea, China, Jamaica and Philippines.

What is your favourite thing about living in Darwin?
Darwin is so laidback.

Did you have any hospitality work experience before starting with ICAE? If yes, how has the curriculum at ICAE helped expand on this?
Yes, I used to work in a restaurant back in Taiwan for more than 4 years as front and back staff doing kitchen work and serving customers.

Are you working anywhere at the moment? Can you describe the venue for us?
Yes, I currently work at INPEX as a kitchen staff. The kitchen is quite big and we serve to a large number of people who works for the gas mining company.

What is the most interesting and enjoyable part of working in the hospitality industry?
The most enjoyable part of working in the hospitality industry is that I get to know and have a chat with other people from different cultures and gain some new knowledge from them.

What is your favourite part of the course so far?
Making dessert.

What do you want to do when you finish the course?
I plan to open a dessert shop in Darwin.

What advice would you give future students?
My advice to future students is for them to have a good attitude towards academic, working and social life.

Tell us something about yourself that not many people would know?
I love my dog more than my family.